Who We Are


Chamber History

Established in 1902 as the Fernie Board of Trade to advocate and pressure the BC Government to make good roads to the CPR mill and other necessary improvements. The board was not a political group and they would avoid interfering with public matters such as town management and control.  They would ensure that what was good for the company was also good for the town.

Over 100 Years Later...

The Fernie Chamber of Commerce has adapted and changed with  the times and the needs of the business community. Today the Chamber is not-for profit, membership driven business association representing almost 300 businesses in Fernie area. The Chamber remains a non political organization and continues to focus is on supporting Fernie businesses and the community. 



To sustainably strengthen the local economy and quality of life in Fernie.


A vibrant business support organization recognized for its valuable contribution to the local economy and the wider community.

Guiding Principles

• Data-driven
• Collaborative
• Inclusive
• Ethical
• Non-partisan
• Member-driven

Organizational Structure

The Fernie Chamber is governed by a Board of Directors who set the high level strategic plan for the Chamber staff to execute. The Board is made up of individuals from the Fernie Business Community who each bring their experience and skills to the table.

Board of Directors

Norman Fraser


Anita Palmer

Past President
College of the Rockies

Dennis Djonlich

Vice President
The Vogue Theatre

Jaime Hanson

Foresight Accounting Ltd.

Sydney Salvador

The Chopstick Truck

Juliana Bower

Bower Builders Ltd.

Andrea Grenier

TD Bank

Simon Howse

Parastone Developments Ltd.

Kirsten Madsen

Island Lake Lodge

Antony McEIwee

Hays Recruiting

Jenny Perez

PM Immigration


Wendy McDougall

Executive Director


(250) 423-6868

Renne Hooper

Membership & Marketing Manager


(250) 423-6868

Jesse Ross

Visitor Services Manager


(778) 519-0748

Jess Eberts

Events Manager & 2nd Edition Co-Working Coordinator


(778) 761-0800